JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated::28/06/2018

Major Activity


33rd National Convention of Environmental Engineers


Date | August 25, 2017

Release of Proceedings


Dhanbad Local Centre of the Institution in association with Director General of Mines Safety (DGMS), Govt. of India, Dhanbad organized the 33rd National Convention of Environmental Engineers and National Seminar on the theme ‘Status of Technological Advancement to Meet the Environmental Norms for Indian Mining and allied Industries’ during August 24-25, 2017 at Vikash Bhawan, DGMS, Dhanbad. The Chief Guest, Mr P K Sarkar, Director General of Mines Safety (DGMS), Dhanbad, in his inaugural address emphasized upon the present scenario of environmental norms related to mining sector. He highlighted the scope of implementation of renewable energy in the country in larger way. The Guest-of-Honour, Mr A Dodde, Deputy Commissioner, Dhanbad, stressed on the current happenings of environmental degradation in the country. Mr Sanjay Sen, Chairman, Environmental Engineering Division Board, IEI, presided over the function and briefed about the background of this important Engineering Division of IEI and its various activities. A Proceeding and Souvenir of the Convention were brought out which was released by the Chief Guest. Dignitaries, namely, Mr K Nageswara Rao, Deputy DGMS (DDGMS), Central Zone, Dhanbad; Mr G L Kanta Rao, DDGMS (Electrical) and Mr B P Singh, DDGMS (Mining) graced the occasion as the Special Guests. The prestigious ‘N V Modak Memorial Lecture’ was delivered by Prof V P Sharma, Head, Dept. of Petroleum Engg., IIT-ISM, Dhanbad on the topic, ‘Environment Health and Safety Issues related to Petroleum Industries’. Prof Asis Mazumder, Director, School of Water Resources Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, delivered the State-of-the-Art Lecture on ‘Environmental Risk of Mining and its Mitigation’. Four Eminent Engineering Personalities, namely, Dr T N Singh, President, Centre of Eco-friendly Mining Alternatives, Dhanbad & former Director, CSIR- Central Institute of Mining & Fuel Research, Dhanbad; Prof S Kanmani, Director, Centre for Environmental Studies, Dept. of Civil Engg., Anna University, Chennai; Mr N P Srivastava, Assistant General Manager (Environment), Environment Control Dept., SAIL- Bokaro Steel Plant and Mr R N Bhargava, Chairman, Ecomen Lab. Pvt. Ltd., Lucknow (in absentia) were felicitated. The ‘IEI Young Engineers Award’ in the field of environmental engineering for the year 2017-18 was presented to Dr P Senthil Kumar, Associate Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engg., SSN College of Engineering, Chennai; Dr L M Pandey, Assistant Professor, Department of Bioscience & Bioengineering, IIT Guwahati; and Mr A K Yadav, Researcher, Dept. of Mining Engg., IIT-BHU, Varanasi. Dr Anil Kumar, Deputy Director General, IEI, addressed the gathering on Professional Engineers (PE/IntPE) of IEI. Earlier, Mr D B Naik, Chairman of the Centre & DDGMS (Mechanical) welcomed the dignitaries and participants. Dr K K Singh, Honorary Secretary of the Centre, proposed the vote of thanks. Dr. Alok Sinha, Assosiate Professor, Dept. of Environmental Science & Engineering, IIT(ISM), Dhanbad was the Co-Convener. A large number of papers on various sub-themes were presented and discussed during technical sessions.